butt welding on body lines

mblommel

True Classic
I have a peculiar rust are on the front right fender. Just the top part of the fender at the seam is rusted:

5441683109_766c8a22ff_z.jpg

I have a good patch panel on the way from Matt at Midwest. I was wondering if it is a good idea butt weld it in at the body line. I'm trying to minimize the repair area as much as possible. I've done some research on the internet about butt welding patch panels with the seam on the body/character line, but haven't come up with much. Any advice would be most appreciated.

Mike, I'm no pro but...

I've dabbled a bit and watched a lot...

I think I woulda bent my own replacement piece but since you have one coming...

You just need to trim it with about a 1/16th of an inch gap... I'd tack it down along the inner fender well first to hold it in place and then start on the ends with ONE tack.

PATIENCE is the key... then allow to cool between a couple more tacks, swinging from one end to the other. COOL again and jump back and forth with about one inch spacing between tacks. Then fill in between allowing time to COOL.

I think this is where HAMMER-WELDING the tacks might come into play here but it looks like a difficult thing on the corner line.

I'd have no trouble grinding the welds and then using a bit of Bondo. I would probably take a lot of time to do this also... but the area is really pretty firm and not prone to flexing... so you should be OK.

I was thinking along the same lines

Yea, I was thinking I could have made my own patch panel for the top of the fender. But... after looking at closer I figured $50 for a partial fender wasn't so bad. The X may have a lot of "flat" areas in it's styling, but most of the lines are all subtle curves.