Red turn lenses

dragonsgate

True Classic
I have thought about replacing the amber turn signal lenses on my one nine with red ones off and on for a while and some of you may have noticed my request in the for sale post. Well I am kind of a cheap-o and tenacious when it comes to figuring ways to get around the system. I guess it comes from when I was an artist starting out and didn’t have much money so I learned to make things or substitute for something else. Anyway I found this stuff for tinting tail light lenses.
It cost about $17 after shipping and seems like it will work if my first test is any indication. There are other brands but I settled on this one because it say Made in U.S.A. plus it showed some before and after pictures that the others didn't. Most paints tell you to work in a well ventilated area as this one does. That is an underestimate. This stuff is potent. I did a test on a cracked lens in the art room and a couple of small squirts stunk up the whole house something fierce. Two light coats on the outside and it looks pretty red. I have three sets of ambers that I am doing so I am bound to get at least two good ones. One lens has a slight crack and I am going to see if I can make it look presentable. First I washed and got all the dirt off. Who ever had a couple of them didn’t believe in masking or removing before painting so the lenses had a considerable amount of over spray on them. I washed them down with solvent and some four O steel wool. Steel wool can be a pain because of the bits of metal strands that can be over looked before painting but it seemed like the best way to help remove the crud. Got them all dry and ready to spray.

The one on the left is a broken test lens. It looks pretty good to me.

Holding up to light shows cracks on the test piece. The color is not bad for two light coats on the outside.

Got them all cleaned and ready.

Shoot the jams.

First light coat on the inside.