First Winter Project (Alt. Rebuild)

Yves

True Classic
For my personal challenge I decided to rebuild myself a Bosch 70Amp alternator (Bosch 0-120-489-874).

I bought on Ebay a used 70Amp alternator with the mention was "operating at the time of withdrawal"
For rebuild I bought the following parts:

• Two ball bearings
  • Contact Slip ring
  • Capacitor
  • Bosch Rectifier series 489
  • Voltage Regulator Bosch Style
After disassemble the alternator I clean every parts and paint the casing also I clean up the stator and apply a little coat of urethane paint.
After I installed the contact slip ring on the stator.
I assembled all parts and now I have like a brand new Bosch 70A alternator for Kermit

PS. my old still working and keep for a spare part.

7zjf.jpg

pfx2.jpg

zk5q.jpg

7z4.JPG

c34u.jpg

6ude.jpg

g7mo.jpg

6ude.jpg

9akv.jpg

nzko.jpg

6lve.jpg

f8ph.jpg

Last edited:
First time

Yes Greg, it's my first time.

It is not really complicate, only need to be a good observer and have free time :hammer:.

Very nice work Yves

I have learned to respect the quality job of Yves whenever he takes on a project.
The transmission rebuild is another example of excellent workmanship.

Great job! :clap: :thumbsup: :pimp:

Yes the gray stuff is J-B Weld epoxy.
I thought so. JB will conduct electricity although the resistance is high. It has metal particles in it. The low voltage might not cause as much of a problem and if the wires were already insulated. I used JB to fill the grooves on a traction motor commutater and darn near wrecked the motor.

Should be fine...

on a 12V system.

I've taken JB Weld and (put my ohm meter on it's most sensitive position) tried to read continuity
and could not get a reading, cured or otherwise.

I have learned to respect the quality job of Yves whenever he takes on a project.
The transmission rebuild is another example of excellent workmanship.

Great job! :clap: :thumbsup: :pimp: